Human rights

RFK Human Rights Presents Ripple of Hope Awards 2021

NEW YORK, December 9, 2021 / PRNewswire / – Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights presented his Ripple of Hope Awards on Thursday at Stacey Abrams, political leader, entrepreneur and author; Amanda gorman, poet; José E. Feliciano, co-founder and managing partner of Clearlake Capital Group; Deven Parekh, Managing Director of Insight Partners; and Hans Vestberg, chairman and chief executive officer of Verizon.

The winners were greeted with a virtual opening speech by Vice president Kamala harris. “Congratulations to the 2021 Ripple of Hope winners Amanda gorman, Stacey Abrams, Jose feliciano, Deven Perekh, and Hans Vestberg. Whether your talents are in speaking out or in social responsibility – in building coalitions or in big business, you have inspired our nation with your vision of who we are and what we can be, much like Robert F. Kennedy himself, “said Harris.”Robert kennedy has been an inspiration to me throughout my career. He understood that working for justice means standing up for equal justice. “

“Since Americans have the right to vote, we have enemies of democracy who work to restrict, suppress and violate the will of the people, especially those from poor and under-represented communities,” said Kerry kennedy, President of Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights. “These underlying issues within our political system do not happen in a vacuum. We need the moral and decisive leadership of people like our 2021 Ripple of Hope Award winners to raise the voices of the marginalized and dismantle structural causes. oppressive injustice and inequality across all arenas. “

Robert F. Kennedy dedicated his life to protecting our freedoms ”, declared Stacey Abrams. “He fought for the equality of all, whatever their color or origin, and he defended their causes. I am honored to receive this award which reflects his vision for social change. Access to the right to vote is essential to achieve a racial and social outcome. justice and the search for impartiality, equity and opportunity must be a constant mission. “

“It is a great honor to be recognized by Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights, an organization that has worked tirelessly for decades to overcome inequality and promote human rights,” said José E. Feliciano, co-founder and managing partner of Clearlake Capital Group. “Today, more than ever, there is a new urgency to continue RFK’s legacy and address the many challenges our society faces, including persistent economic and social inequalities. Bobby kennedy he himself said: “A world of ever-accelerating economic progress… would, in short, be a world we would be proud to have built. I firmly believe that by investing in education and entrepreneurship, as well as by improving access to capital, we can level the playing field. ”

Robert F. Kennedy his heritage of courage and humanitarian spirit have inspired generations of Americans, including myself, ”said Deven Parekh, Managing Director of Insight Partners. “His commitment to economic equality and social progress has stood the test of time. I am truly touched and honored to accept the Ripple of Hope award alongside such accomplished leaders.”

“It is truly humbling to be included alongside this remarkable group of human rights champions,” said Hans Vestberg, Chairman and CEO of Verizon. “There has never been a more critical time to demonstrate the power of a goal. It is our responsibility, as one of the world’s largest companies, to solve the most pressing economic, environmental and societal issues and to move the world forward through the power of action, of inclusion and technology. “

The Ripple of Hope Award is inspired by Robert F. Kennedy most famous speech, the 1966 Affirmation Day speech he gave in South Africa at the height of apartheid: “Every time a man defends an ideal, or acts to improve the lot of others, or attacks injustice, he sends a small wave of hope, and since a million different energy centers and bold these ripples create a current that can sweep through the mightiest walls of oppression and resistance. “

Previous Ripple of Hope Prize winners include Barack obama, Tim cook, Colin Kaepernick, Dolores Huerta, Desmond Tutu, Hillary Clinton, John lewis, Bono, Dr. Antoine Fauci, Nancy Pelosi, Robert F. Smith, George clooney, Bill clinton, and Joe biden.

Learn more about RFK Human Rights and its annual Ripple of Hope award at

Media contact:
Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights
[email protected]

SOURCE Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights